EGO Power+ LM2156SP Review
The LM2156SP gets the biggest battery and most torque of EGO's 21-inch self-propelled models, at a clear price premium. It makes sense for larger lawns or thick grass, and is overkill for small ones.
- Deck size
- 21 in.
- Drive
- Self-propelled, palm-pad engage with speed dial
- Fuel type
- Battery (electric)
- Price
- $879
Rating breakdown
Key specifications
| Power type | Battery (56V ARC Lithium) |
|---|---|
| Engine | 1200W brushless motor, 56V ARC Lithium, up to 8.3 ft-lb cutting torque (EGO) |
| Fuel type | Battery (electric) |
| Battery / runtime | 56V 10.0Ah ARC Lithium included; 700W Turbo Charger; about 60 min charge; up to 75 min runtime (EGO) |
| Transmission | Touch Drive variable-speed self-propel |
| Drive | Self-propelled, palm-pad engage with speed dial |
| Deck size | 21 in. |
| Deck construction | Not stated by EGO |
| Cutting height | 8 positions, 1 to 4 in. per tech specs (EGO FAQ says 7 positions, 1-3/8 to 4 in.) |
| Blades | Upper blade plus mulching, high-lift bagging and extended-runtime lower blades |
| Discharge | 3-in-1: mulch, bag or side discharge; 2-bushel bag included |
| Top speed | 0.9 to 3.1 mph |
| Model number | LM2156SP (two-battery LM2156SP-2, tool-only LM2150SP) |
| Motor | 1200W brushless |
| Lights | LED headlights |
| Weather rating | IPX4 |
Pros and cons
What we like
- 10.0Ah battery in the kit
- Up to 8.3 ft-lb torque
- 700W fast charger
- Swappable blades
- Up to 75 min claimed runtime
What could be better
- Higher price than LM2135SP
- Weight not stated
- Height positions listed inconsistently
- Deck material not stated
- EGO page showed no price
LM2156SP review
What the LM2156SP is
The LM2156SP is EGO’s Select Cut XP self-propelled mower, the step above the LM2135SP. The kit includes a 10.0Ah 56V battery and a 700W Turbo Charger. EGO’s page lists a two-battery kit (LM2156SP-2) and a tool-only LM2150SP. Retailer Ace Hardware sells the single-battery kit at $879, while EGO’s page was marked Coming Soon with no price.
If you searched for an EGO LM2156SP review, the useful question is whether the XP upgrades justify the extra cost over the LM2135SP. The answer depends mostly on lawn size.
Motor and torque
EGO lists a 1200W brushless motor and up to 8.3 ft-lb of cutting torque, although the page’s meta text says 8.5. That is higher than the 7.0 ft-lb EGO gives for the LM2135SP. A reseller’s copy claims the torque exceeds gas power, which is marketing language we cannot confirm.
Battery and charging
The 10.0Ah pack is the big change. EGO claims up to 75 minutes of runtime and about an hour to charge with the 700W unit. Fast charging helps if you split a large lawn into two sessions. All EGO 56V ARC Lithium batteries are compatible, so the large pack can also run other EGO tools. A bigger pack is also heavier to carry, though EGO does not publish this battery’s weight on the page we read.
Blades, height and drive
Select Cut XP uses a mulching lower blade (installed), a high-lift bagging blade, an extended-runtime blade and an upper blade. Discharge is 3-in-1 with a two-bushel bag. EGO’s tech specs list eight height positions from 1 to 4 inches, while its own FAQ says seven from 1-3/8 to 4 inches.
Touch Drive is variable from 0.9 to 3.1 mph. Weight was not stated on the pages we read, which is a gap for anyone who must lift the mower into a truck or shed. The mower folds for storage and has LED headlights and IPX4 weather resistance.
Warranty and fit
Our EGO LM2156SP review rests on EGO’s published figures only. Coverage is 5 years on the tool and 3 years on the battery, extended to 5 years on the battery with registration. Pick this model for lawns where a standard 7.5Ah battery feels tight, or if you want the strongest torque in EGO’s 21-inch walk-behind lineup. Smaller yards may not need it, and shoppers who want the lowest price should read our LM2114 page too. Note that the tool-only LM2150SP leaves out the battery and charger, so compare kit contents carefully when pricing.
Buying information
Ownership
Frequently asked questions
What comes in the EGO LM2156SP kit?
A 10.0Ah 56V battery and a 700W Turbo Charger.
How long does the LM2156SP battery last?
EGO claims up to 75 minutes on a single charge.
What is the difference between LM2156SP and LM2135SP?
The LM2156SP has a 10.0Ah battery, a 700W charger and more torque (8.3 versus 7.0 ft-lb).
How much does the EGO LM2156SP cost?
Ace Hardware lists $879 for the single-battery kit; EGO's page shows no price.
Does the LM2156SP have side discharge?
Yes, it is a 3-in-1 mulch, bag or side discharge mower.
Owner reviews
No owner reviews yet. Own one? Be the first to share what it is like to live with.






