Skip to content
Ryobi RY401150 review

Ryobi · Electric Mowers

Ryobi RY401150 Review

The RY401150 offers a good spec sheet, with 70 minutes of claimed runtime and a 5-year warranty. Its discontinued status and the 2025 connector recall should decide the question first.

3.4 Our rating
Deck size
21 in.
Drive
Self-propelled walk-behind
Fuel type
Battery (electric)

Rating breakdown

  • Performance 3.5
  • Build quality 3.5
  • Reliability 2.5
  • Value for money 3.0
  • Comfort & ergonomics 4.0
  • Features 4.0

Key specifications

Power typeBattery (40V HP)
EngineBrushless motor, 40V HP Technology
Fuel typeBattery (electric)
Battery / runtimeTwo 40V 6.0Ah batteries and charger included; up to 70 min runtime (Ryobi)
TransmissionSmart Trek adaptive variable-speed self-propel
DriveSelf-propelled walk-behind
Deck size21 in.
Deck constructionNot stated on pages read
Cutting height7 positions, 1.5 to 4 in., single-point
BladesCross Cut multi-blade system (dual blade)
DischargeMulch, bag or side discharge
Top speedNot published by Ryobi
Weight75 lb
Recommended property sizeUp to 3/4 acre (Ryobi)
Model numberRY401150 (recall notice lists RY401150US)
StatusMarked discontinued by Ryobi
HandlesOne-touch folding
Made inUSA with globally sourced materials (per Ryobi)

Pros and cons

What we like

  • Up to 70 min claimed runtime with two 6Ah batteries
  • Smart Trek speed follows your pace
  • 7-position single-point height control
  • Folding handles for upright storage
  • 5-year tool warranty per Ryobi

What could be better

  • Discontinued per Ryobi
  • Covered by a Feb 2025 overheating recall
  • No top speed published
  • Deck material not stated
  • Battery capacity matters on lots near 3/4 acre

RY401150 review

What the RY401150 is

The RY401150 is a 21-inch, self-propelled, cordless walk-behind from Ryobi’s 40V HP Brushless line. Ryobi’s support page names it the 40V HP Brushless 21-inch CrossCut Self-Propelled Mower, supplied with two 40V 6Ah batteries and a charger, while its retail kit page calls it the Self-Propelled Multi-Blade Mower Kit. It is the same mower under two names.

Two things matter before any spec talk. Ryobi’s own product page marks this model discontinued, and it is covered by a February 2025 recall notice. Anyone searching for a Ryobi RY401150 review is most likely deciding about a used or leftover unit, so we cover both points below.

Motor, batteries and runtime

Power comes from a brushless motor that Ryobi markets as 40V HP Technology. The kit page claims it delivers more power than a 170cc gas mower, which is a marketing comparison, not a measured figure. Ryobi quotes up to 70 minutes of runtime using the two 6.0Ah batteries together, and recommends the mower for yards up to three quarters of an acre.

No motor wattage or torque figure is published on the pages we read, so treat the gas comparison as a rough pitch.

Cutting and drive

The 21-inch deck uses what Ryobi calls the Cross Cut multi-blade system, described as dual blades. It can mulch, bag or side discharge. Cutting height is a single-point adjustment with seven positions from 1.5 to 4 inches. Ryobi says the system bags 75 percent more efficiently than competing mowers, a claim we cannot check.

Smart Trek adaptive variable speed is the self-propel system, which adjusts to how fast you walk. Ryobi does not publish a top speed. The handles fold with one touch for upright storage, and the bag has a pass-through design for emptying without stopping.

Weight, warranty and the recall

Ryobi lists 75 lb, and a third-party database agrees. Warranty on the support page is 5 years on the tool and 3 years on the batteries.

A recall announced on February 6, 2025 covers the RY401150US, the RY401140US and several other 21-inch Ryobi 40V walk-behinds, because a push-on connector in the powerhead can overheat and create a fire hazard. The remedy is to stop using the mower and request a free replacement. Check the serial number against the notice before using or buying one.

Who might still want it

On paper the RY401150 is a capable mid-size yard mower with real runtime. The discontinued status and the recall make it a poor purchase unless you can confirm it is outside the affected serial range or has been replaced by the remedy.

Buying information

Where to buy

Warranty

Ryobi's support page states a 5-year limited warranty on the tool and 3 years on the batteries. See the recall note about the powerhead connector.

Depreciation and resale

No published resale figures. The recall and discontinued status are likely to weigh on used prices.

Ownership

Common problems

Spec-based limits: the recall covers a powerhead connector that can overheat, Ryobi's pages disagree on the product name, and no price or top speed is published.

Search owner discussions in the forum →

Maintenance

No oil or fuel. Keep the deck clear of clippings, check the blades and store batteries indoors. Follow the recall instructions if your serial number is affected.

Frequently asked questions

Is the Ryobi RY401150 recalled?

Yes. The RY401150US is listed in a February 6, 2025 recall for a powerhead connector that can overheat. Check the serial range and contact Ryobi's maker TTI.

What battery does the Ryobi RY401150 use?

Two Ryobi 40V 6.0Ah batteries, included with the kit along with a charger.

How long does the RY401150 run on a charge?

Ryobi claims up to 70 minutes with both 6Ah batteries.

How big a lawn is the RY401150 for?

Ryobi recommends it for yards up to 3/4 acre.

Is the Ryobi RY401150 discontinued?

Ryobi's product page marks it as discontinued.

Owner reviews

No owner reviews yet. Own one? Be the first to share what it is like to live with.

Review the RY401150

Overall rating
Rate the details (optional)
Performance
Build quality
Reliability
Value for money
Comfort & ergonomics
Features

Would you recommend it?

Reviews are checked by our team before they appear. Please keep it about the product and leave out links.